EU introduces visas for Americans

EU introduces visas for Americans

Last summer, the European Union announced that, starting in 2021, it will require citizens from countries that do not require visas to travel to the Schengen area, including the United States , to apply for an authorization to visit the Member States. The process will take place through the European Travel Information and Authorization System, an automated online system designed to reinforce visitor security controls. The trial will cost about $ 8 and will not take more than 10 minutes, according to the European Commission. Responses will be checked by Interpol and other security databases, and prospective travelers will receive an email approval or rejection in just a few minutes or up to four weeks. Thus, the EU introduces the ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) which is reciprocity for the ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization) that EU citizens from Visa Waiver countries (generally from the Schengen area) need to walks in order to enter the United States. ETIAS and ESTA are basically pre-verification and pre-authorization systems of travel, not even a visa-issuing system. These are just some safety measures that countries take when they are visited by foreign citizens.

The ETIAS introduced by the European Union applies not only to US citizens but to all non-EU countries who do not need a genuine visa to enter the Schengen area (Albania, Moldova, Serbia, Ukraine etc.). For both ETIAS (Schengen) and ESTA (US) verification and authorization, citizens who want to travel will need to obtain online travel pre-authorization, fill forms and pay ($ 14 or € 8). Romanian citizens do not need to go through the ESTA because they are already part of the process by checking when the visa is issued. In addition, control over “Visa Waiver” countries in the United States is on the other hand.

United States citizens who want to travel to one of the 26 Schengen member states will need a visa from 2021, the European Union said.

Visas such as the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) will be required for travel to the Schengen Area.

Currently, Americans do not need a visa for travelers of less than 90 days in Europe.

The EU said the new restrictions are needed to “avoid future problems of illegal migration and terrorism,” arguing that ETIAS visas are valid for three years.

“ETIAS visas for Americans are visas that allow more entry and fewer restrictions to promote tourism while maintaining a high level of international security,” an EU spokesman said.

Most people in the European Union can travel to the United States without a visa, but this does not apply to citizens of Romania, Poland, Cyprus, Croatia and Bulgaria.

The European Union has called for the lifting of the restrictions and in 2016 the European Commission has published a report calling on the US authorities to raise these requirements.

To obtain an ETIAS visa, Americans will need “a valid passport, a credit or debit card and a longer account.”

Minors will be able to enter the Schengen area without an ETIAS visa and will only need a passport to travel.

The major change to ETIAS is that for citizens of countries that usually travel to Europe only with their passport, they will be given a further control step before entering a Schengen Member State. To pass this check, Americans must have a valid passport, credit or debit card, and an email address to request an ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) visa. Minors will only need passports and sign up for ETIAS. Currently, US citizens do not need visas for stays shorter than 90 days in the Schengen area. “Like other countries and regions in the world, Europe has recently decided to improve its security system to avoid any other problems with illegal migration and terrorism,” the ETIAS website said. The European Commission published for the first time in 2016 a report requesting the United States to waive the visa application for citizens from five EU countries – Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Poland and Romania, because, according to EU rules, all citizens Europeans must benefit from the same treatment. Last June, the European Parliament voted in favor of imposing a visa system for US citizens. American officials say there is certainly a frustration in Brussels regarding visas for the five member states, but they say, it is a “technical decision, not a political decision”. The measure is related to the security of passports and to the percentage of visas for the United States that are denied, called refusal rates, Washington claims. The European Commission declares that visa refusal rates for countries such as Bulgaria and Croatia remain above the 3% threshold set by US law, but steady declines are evident. Cyprus is below this threshold, says the European Executive.

Partner Posts

US Citizens Will Need ‘Visas’ for Europe’s Schengen Area Starting from 2021

Traveling to Europe will now become a little more complicated for US citizens – starting from 2021, they will need to obtain an entry permit before crossing the ...


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Book your stays and get up to 30% off at Iberostar HotelsSpain, Africa, Montenegro, Portugal, Greece, Dubai, Seychelles and Maldives
ALOT - A Lot Of Trips